Gluten-Free for the Holidays

I’m back! Finally… I didn’t realize that it had been so long since I posted anything. Time gets away. Speaking of time, it is the most wonderful time of the year! 

It’s hard to pass that basket of steaming rolls to the next person without putting one on my plate. I don’t like to ask people things like, “Hey, did you use dairy free butter  in the turkey and mashed potatoes?” I wouldn’t expect them to. Who doesn’t know the best part of the turkey broth is from that stick of butter that it’s saturated in? The dressing? Nope, pass it on, too. I sincerely doubt they used gluten-free bread in the stuffing.  Are the Muddy Buddies (Puppy Chow) peanut and dairy free? Probably not.

I will be feasting at my Mom’s, who is gluten free, too. Bake beans, ham, GF chex mix, and all the other amazing things she cooks up will be piled high on my plate! Yay! It wasn’t always that way. The first years were hard, especially during the holidays. Now, on our 5th year we just about have the hang of this. I will try my best to help those out there starving for a real holiday meal.

We spent Thanksgiving day at home this year.  I started out thinking I would just do a small turkey and some veggies.  It turned into more of a gluten-free feast. (Not even the gluten eaters noticed.) I found an amazing recipe online for yeast rolls and modified it a bit with what I had. The dressing is one of those things I always have to call my Mother-in-law about every year. I ask again and again, “How many eggs am I suppose to use for dressing?”

Grandma Dee Dee’s Turkey directions but I added olive oil, earth balance, thyme and rosemary… Not as pretty as Grandma’s turkeys, but it still tasted great!

Yes, it was a spectacular Thanksgiving meal that just happened to be gluten-free.

 

GLUTEN-FREE YEAST ROLLS

Modified from this blog:

http://simplygluten-free.com/blog/2011/11/gluten-free-dairy-free-soft-dinner-rolls-recipe.html

Ingredients

2 tablespoons dry active yeast
2 teaspoons sugar
2 cups rice, soy, or coconut milk (or milk) – warm but not hot (105 degrees)
1½ cups White Rice Flour
½ cup superfine Sweet Rice Flour
¾ cup Tapioca Starch
½ cup Cornstarch(If you have a corn allergy you can sub all tapioca)
3 teaspoons xanthan gum
1 ½ teaspoons sea salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
3 large eggs (Reserving 1 for brushing before baking)
¼ cup butter or earth balance
¼ cup honey or agave nectar
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Directions

I got this tip from my dear friend, Tina, and it has been a lifesaver! First, warm your milk to about 105 degrees. Make sure it isn’t too hot. Next put sugar in the warm milk and whisk lightly until it dissolves. Add the yeast to the mixture and try to whisk it gently in.  Set aside while you mix the other ingredients. As Tina says, “It should bubble and foam when the yeast is happy.”

Combine the flours, starches, xanthan gum, salt and baking powder in a bowl and use a whisk a to mix it all together.

Put the 2 eggs, melted earth balance (or butter), honey(or agave nectar) and vinegar in my mixer bowl. Add yeast mixture while mixing on low. Slowly add the flour mixture being careful not to dust yourself down with flour. (This happens to me often…) Blend the dough on medium-low for 3-4 minutes, stopping to scrape the bowl halfway.

Lightly grease muffin pan. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Spoon the batter into muffin pans. (I ran out of pans so improvised.) I used a small pampered chef ice cream scoop to make the rolls into clovers.  Cover with a clean kitchen towel in a warm place. Either on top of the oven while it is pre-heating or heat the oven to 200, turn it off and let the rolls rise in the warm oven.  Let rise until the dough has almost doubled in size.

Beat the extra egg with 1 teaspoon of water with a fork. Gently brush the tops of each roll with the beaten egg.

Bake for 15 – 18 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool in the pans for 15 minutes.

BE READY FOR APPLAUSE.

 

GLUTEN-FREE DRESSING

This one is going to be a little harder to explain. I really don’t have an actual recipe that I follow. I use to hate it when my Mom or Grandma would say things like, “I don’t know Sis, just a little of that and a dash of that….”Now I am continuing the legacy on. It must be a trait you earn as you age. Like a merit badge of some sort. I will do my best do guess the right measurements. 

GF BAKING TIP:  When you begin your journey of gluten-free baking, you are sure to have blunders. Even after 5 years of baking GF, I still have bad and good baking days. On the days that my dinginess prevails I try to make the most of my mistake. Say for instance, I once had bread that came out and it wasn’t the right texture at all. It completely caved in and I have no idea what I did but it wasn’t going to make it to Alex’s lunch box.  Instead of calling it a complete loss…I let it cool, cubed it and put it in freezer bags. So my blunder ended up being my stuffing for Thanksgiving . You can also use it for meatloaf or anything that calls for breadcrumbs.

Ingredients

4 cups gluten-free bread cubes 
3/4 to 1 cup (depending on preference) onions, diced 
3/4 to 1 cup (Do equal amounts of onions and celery) celery ribs, diced 
2-4 tablespoons Earth Balance or butter
2 teaspoons GF Poultry Seasoning 
1/2 teaspoons parsley (Optional)
 black ground pepper to taste
gluten-free chicken or turkey broth large egg

Toast bread cubes  in a preheated 300°F oven for until dried, stirring occasionally to promote even browning.

Sauté onions and celery in butter until they are soft and onions begin to caramelize. Add poultry seasoning, salt and pepper.

In a large bowl, mix sautéed vegetables with bread cubes, chicken broth and parsley. Use enough broth to saturate the bread crumbs but make sure it isn’t to soupy. This is where I can’t be really specific. If you get too much broth and eggs it can turn out runny…Too little and you will have dry dressing. It’s a trial and error thing. Transfer to a baking dish and bake for 20 minutes at 325°F or until golden.

To be continued……..

Leave a comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia Breiner
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 07:03:05

    I visited a lot of website but I conceive this one has something extra in it. “Living is having ups and downs and sharing them with friends.” by Trey and Matt Stone Parker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

