Gluten-Free Breakfast

When I think of breakfast, I always think of my Grandparents. I remember spending the night at my Grandparents on a weekend and awaiting a huge breakfast of our choice.  At my Grandma Dee’s, it was always….”Do you want 1 egg or 2?” Of course I would say, “How about 3…” If I wanted pancakes, we had pancakes. She was definitely a short order cook. You name it you got it. Now, at Grandma Betty’s (shown in the pic) we would always have biscuits and gravy, eggs, pancakes….She would make a huge spread of everything. We would beg my Grandpa to get out of bed so we could eat. I can still hear Grandma yelling, “Dale, get out of that bed or we will eat without you!”

My love for cooking comes from my Grandmother’s.  They would  teach me something new every time I came over. Of course, all this food we ate was full of gluten! So now that we can’t have gluten anymore I have had to teach myself how to cook all over again. Cooking gluten-free is very different. Eggs need to be room temperature…Flours are all completely different in consistancy…My first few loaves of bread were a catastrophe! I remember throwing our poor dog loaves of bread out on the deck. You could hear the bread hitting the ground, CLUNCK…Everytime she would try to carry it off, she would drop it because it was like a brick. It’s no wonder that dog didn’t lose some teeth over that!  So, patience is necessary when starting the gluten-free diet.

The granola and waffle recipes are our favorite breakfast foods. I, like my Grandfather, like to sleep in.  You can make both of these ahead and enjoy sleeping in on a Saturday morning. The waffles can easily be froze and put in a toaster when you are ready to eat them.  I like to make a double batch of waffles and freeze a bunch of them.  If you are trying to be more healthful you can substitute oil with flax-seed meal on the waffles. I have also tried the waffles using agave nectar instead of honey. (lower glycemic index)

ENJOY!

Very Best Waffles

1 cup GF flour blend of your choice

3 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 TBSP. Sugar (honey or agave nectar can be substituted)

1/2 tsp. xanthum gum

3 eggs separated

1 cup vanilla Rice or Coconut Milk

1/4 c. canola oil

1 tsp. Vanilla

Preheat your waffle maker. Whisk the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Separate the eggs…whites go into a large bowl and yolks go into the flour mixture. Add the milk to the flour mixture and whisk well. Beat the egg whites until stiff. Add the oil and vanilla to the batter and mix well. Pour the batter over the egg whites and whisk. Pour into waffle maker making sure not to overfill as this can be messy!!! If freezing, allow to cool before putting into freezer bags for later use.

GF Granola

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter (1/2 stick)
  • 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar (can use splenda brown sugar, but cut in half)
  • 1/4 cup honey(or agave nectar)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1 cup whole raw cashews or nut of your choice, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup flaked, unsweetened coconut
  • 2 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-free oats
  • 1 cup dried blueberries or cranberries(shown)

Heat the oven to 350°F Combine butter, brown sugar, and honey in a small saucepan, place over medium heat, and stir until butter has melted and brown sugar has dissolved. Bring to a boil and cook until slightly thickened. Remove from heat; stir in vanilla, salt, and cinnamon; and set aside. Add sugar mixture, nuts, coconut, oats, and dried fruit.  Stir until mixture is moist throughout. Spread mixture on a baking sheet. Bake until toasted and lightly browned, about 10-15  minutes. Stir and continue to bake until lightly browned all over, about 5 minutes more.  Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack to cool completely. Serve with milk or eat by itself. WARNING: It is addictive!!!!

Leave a Reply

