Gluten-Free Pizza

 

Pizza. Yep. The most excruciating part of going gluten-free is by far letting go of pizza. What I wouldn’t do for some pizza hut, right now…When Alex first went gluten-free, the rest of us were still gluten eaters for the most part. (My husband still hasn’t made the transition…) Chris would go pick-up a pizza, I would open the garage door, and he would sneak it in. I never could wait until Alex went to bed, so I would quietly step out into the garage and stuff an entire slice of pizza in my mouth. I’m talking 2.5 seconds and that piece of pizza was gone! I can still hear Alex, “Mom, what are you doing out there?” I know, that sounds like a selfish thing to do, but in my defense I have been addicted to gluten way longer then my kid had.  I’m sure someday when he reads this, he will forgive me.

So, I’ve been working on gluten-free pizza for going on 4 years now.  The first time I made a gluten-free pizza, I was super excited about it and thought it looked great. Alex, took one bite and spit it out, and Chris looked at me with that, “You can’t seriously think I’m going to eat this for dinner”, look in his eyes. Granted, it was a brick with tasteless soy cheese on top.

I use parchment paper in a lot of my gluten-free baking. It looks like wax paper, and it’s used for cookies and cakes, ect. so they won’t stick to the pan. Seriously, nothing is going to stick to this stuff. Sometimes I’ll bake my pizza on it if I feel like it is sticking bad and it comes out great. Another alternative is the new GF Bisquick mix has a pizza recipe (for a quicker pizza). When I make it with the bisquick, I can actually pour the batter onto the parchment and spread it out to make a circle. Very easy.

I always roll the pizza dough out on wax paper and then flip it over and peel the wax paper from the bottom. It makes the transition to the pan a lot easier, as the dough is a lot harder to work with then regular dough. To be honest, I don’t know that I ever even attempted homemade pizza until we went gluten-free. I mean, that’s what delivery is for right? We now use Daiya cheese or goat cheese for toppings, boar heads pepperoni’s are excellent, also. Technically, goat cheese is not dairy free, but it was the only thing that came up on Kenzie’s sensitivity test that didn’t cause a reaction. They both tolerate it very well and we haven’t had any issues with it. Oddly enough, I’m actually allergic to dairy and get asthma symptoms when I eat cheese but seem to do well with goat cheese. (I’m not a huge fan myself, but my kids would eat buckets of it if I let them!)

So this is the recipe that has come to be are main pizza recipe.  I have tweaked it here and there, which has resulted in the recipe I give you now. I feel like it still has room for improvements, so feel free to pass on any ideas! Top it however you like and enjoy!!!

Gluten-Free Pizza

  • 1 TBSP Dry Yeast
  • 1/4 c. Sorghum Flour
  • 2/3 c. Brown Rice Flour
  • 1/4 c. Sweet Rice Flour
  • 1/4 c. Tapioca Starch
  • 2 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp. Sea Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Unflavored gelatin
  • 1 tsp. GF Italian Seasoning
  • 2/3 c. Warm Milk or Milk Substitute
  • 1 tsp. Honey
  • 1 tsp. Olive Oil (Extra Virgin is best)
  • 1 tsp. Cider Vinegar

Preheat oven to 425.  Mix dry ingredients. Slowly add the rest of the ingredients while the mixer is on low. You might need some extra flour to work with the dough. No need to knead the dough, just get it to where it looks like a ball. When ready to roll out, use wax paper and extra flour. (Sometimes it’s easier to use another piece of wax paper on top and then peel it off before transferring it to the pan.) Once you have it on the pan, bake for 7-8 minutes before adding the toppings. Then 15 to 20 minutes or until toppings are browned.

Leave a Reply

