Honey Roasted Pork Loin

This recipe is delicious!  It is also easy, which makes it close to perfect if you ask me.  I started using pork loins after going to a friend’s house for a cook-out. They had wrapped a 3 lb. marinated pork loin in foil and slow cooked it on the grill. It was so tasty, I’ve been hooked ever since.  Pork loins go on sale frequently where I shop.  I often will take it to the butcher while I’m shopping and ask them to slice it for me into pork chops. (It’s much cheaper than buying 4 pork chops at a time, plus they do it for free.) When I get home I separate them into freezer bags for later use.

I came across this recipe on food.com and decided to tweak it a bit. Funny, this recipe was already gluten-free, so I didn’t have to change any of the ingredients.  Most people think you have to scour the globe to find gluten-free foods. In reality, most of the food that people should eat, is already GF. Vegetables, fruits, meats (uncured) are all naturally gluten-free.  It’s the processed foods you really have to worry about.

I doubled the marinade for this because I like to sit aside a bit to baste with in the beginning of cooking.  It seems like the more marinade I use the more tender the roast, too. I also wrap the loin in a great big piece of foil, so I can get as much juice as possible to stay in the roast. (Something my Mom does with her ham and works quite well.) It tends to make the pork roast even more juicy!

Honey Roasted Pork Loin

  • 2 lb. Boneless Pork Loin
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 c. Honey
  • 4 TBSP. Orange Juice
  • 4 TBSP. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp. Thyme
  • 1 c. Organic Chicken Stock (Some chicken broth does contain wheat)

Preheat the oven to 375.  Season the pork with salt and pepper and place in a roasting pan. Mix together the honey, juice, oil and thyme. Pour over the pork. Add the broth to the pan. Baste during baking.  Bake until temperature reaches 150 (45-60 minutes).  

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michele
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 15:46:43

    Very well done Sis!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

