Salads for EVERYONE

I’m sure most of you know how to make a salad.  At my house everyone likes their salads to be personalized. My husband wants cheese and croutons (not gf croutons or dairy free cheese…), I like spinach, Kenzie loves lots of goat cheese, and Alex won’t touch a salad with a 10 foot pole! Since going gluten-free I have become a regular salad eater. I probably have a salad for at least one meal everyday.  I have learned that what I use to think was a basic salad no longer does it for me, especially since I eat them so often. So I decided to blog about my new love for salads and the many ways to “spin” a salad. I have also incorporated as many “superfoods” or healthy veggies in my salads to get the ultimate health benefits. So even though, Chris loves to load up on cheese and dressing, he doesn’t notice if I mix in a little spinach with the romaine. SHHHH….Don’t tell!

Essentials to a Healthier Salad

Romaine Lettuce (Vitamin A, C, manganese, chromium)

Spinach (Iron, folate, and loaded with antioxidants)

Kale (Vitamin C, beta-carotene, calcium and antioxidants)

Slivered almonds (monounsaturated fatty acids)

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts (One serving has only 2.5 grams of fat and 22 grams of protein!)

Black Beans (antioxidants and magnesium)

Broccoli (Vitamin C and K, Calcium)

Avocados (Fiber)

Mandarin oranges ( Vitamins C and A plus fiber)

Dried Cranberries (Vitamin C and antioxidants)

Edamame (Tons of fiber and protein)

pomegranates (vitamin C and antioxidants)

So make yours mexican…black beans, avocado and some salsa mixed in with your dressing.  You can top them so many different ways, the options are endless! I like to have mine with spinach, mandarin oranges, pomegranates, grilled chicken and poppy seed dressing.  I use Briannas Home Style Dressings because they are all natural ingredients. The poppy seed is fantastic. Also, you can always throw together a quick dressing with a little extra virgin olive oil and some fresh or dried herbs.

Leave a Reply

